The secondary outbuildings of the Hawkins farm are combined in one long five-room structure, an arrangement which is unusual and perhaps unique in the county. The original uses of all the various rooms are not known, but one served as a washhouse/summer kitchen and another as a springhouse. The Hawkins house is dated November 8, 1835, and the outbuildings appear to date from the same period. Location: T806, three-fourths of a mile north of Route 40, Somerset Township.
Photo "Preserving Our Past", Landmark Architecture of Washington County, Pennsylvania, 1975, courtesy of the Washington County History and Landmarks Foundation.